WV Bureau of Senior Services

West Virginia Silver Haired Legislature

The West Virginia Silver Haired Legislature is a model legislature, composed of representatives 60 years of age or older, who are elected from throughout the state by their peers. Through this program older adults learn about the legislative process and identify solutions to common problems. The SHL has the potential of 134 representatives, all 60 years of age or older, who are elected every two years from throughout the state by their peers.

The 2016 Silver Haired Legislature convened August 25–26 at the Days Inn Convention Center in Flatwoods. The SHL committees are in the process of organizing and drafting new position papers for the upcoming year.

Leadership elections were held during the meeting in Flatwoods and the following are the newly elected officers of their respective houses:


Senate President: Vallie Huffman (Kanawha County)
President Pro Tempore: Joyce Rabanal (Harrison County)
Majority Leader: Alfred Clay (Webster County)
Minority Leader: Linda Waybright (Jackson County)


Speaker of the House: Rosa McKinney (Putnam County)
Speaker Pro Tempore: Suzanne Hornsby (Jackson County)
Majority Leader: Curtis Dickson (Wood County)
Minority Leader: Kenneth Jarrell (Boone County)

For further information on becoming a candidate for the Silver Haired Legislature, contact your local senior center, the Area Agency on Aging for your region, or the West Virginia Bureau of Senior Services at 304-558-3317. 

Visit the Silver Haired Legislature's Facebook page by clicking the link below.

Link to SHL Facebook Page


The 2012 Silver Haired Legislators enjoyed tea at the Governor's Mansion.